Saturday, December 9, 2023

Cisco’s Adventure to DoD 8140 Accreditation 


The CIO for the U.S. Division of Protection (DoD) has just lately issued DoD Guide 8140.03 Our on-line world Group of workers Qualification & Control Program.* This can be a role-based way to establish, expand, and qualify people who have federal paintings roles that align with the DoD Cyber Group of workers Framework (DCWF).  The brand new 8140 mandate will have an effect on a bigger collection of federal workers and contractors. Moreover, distributors supporting methods may additionally wish to qualify.      

As the sector of cybersecurity repeatedly adjustments, so do the information, abilities, and skills (KSAs) which might be related to the era. Due to this fact, the learning wishes to modify to deal with those new threats to verify they align with the brand new necessities. The Division of Protection (DoD) is within the technique of transitioning from DoD 8570.01-m paintings roles and related certifications to DoD 8140. While prior to now, there have been 14 paintings roles, there’ll now be 52 paintings roles. Cisco is recently comparing our present certifications and the way they align with the brand new DoD 8140 paintings roles.   

Cisco’s DoD 8570 Certifications 

Lately, DoD 8570 IAT certifications are nonetheless in impact. That implies CCNA covers Knowledge Assurance Tech (IAT) I & II (See DoD CIO waiver hyperlink), and CCNP Safety covers IAT III. Moreover, CyberOps Affiliate is at the DoD 8570 CSSP analyst and incident responder classes.

Please see the Cisco devoted 8570 internet web page for info. 

Transition to 8140   

Cisco is getting ready for the transition to 8140 via actively running with the DoD to align our certifications to the DCWF. Cisco understands that this evolution of the framework is a significant improve from the present DoD 8570.01-m Knowledge Assurance Technician ranges I, II, and III.  As discussed above, the brand new framework can have over 52 paintings roles, with extra to return.        

The 2 Our on-line world Group of workers Parts in DoD 8140 that Cisco will probably be enthusiastic about are: Our on-line world IT Group of workers and Cybersecurity Group of workers.** Those two parts surround over 14 paintings roles which might be on the middle of Cisco era.

In particular, CCNA, CCNP Endeavor, and CCNP Safety certifications duvet the task roles that construct, configure, and function. To spherical out the talent necessities in those task roles, the CyberOps Affiliate and CyberOps Skilled certifications educate people who safe, shield, and observe networks.  

Keep tuned as Cisco and the DoD collaborate to deliver the most productive in coaching and certifications to the marketplace.   



** of workers.aspx


Join Cisco U. | Sign up for the Cisco Studying Community.

Observe Cisco Studying & Certifications

Twitter | Fb | LinkedIn | Instagram | YouTube

Use #CiscoU and #CiscoCert to sign up for the dialog.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Stories